June 10, 2017: Electric EARth at the Modern

click here to see the program

Sounds Modern presents Electric EARth: music to celebrate the art of Doug Aitken. This program celebrates the multiple, shifting, and technically mediated perspectives of Aitken’s art with music by George Crumb, John Cage, Iannis Xenakis, Andrew May, and Delia Derbyshire that places the listener in a variety of imaginary worlds. From the deep ocean to the center of a charcoal fire, travel with us deep inside the sound worlds of the Electric EARth. Flutist Elizabeth McNutt, pianist Shannon Wettstein, clarinetist Connor O’Meara, violinist Andrew May, cellist Kourtney Newton, percussionists Colton Lytle and West Fox will perform. Admission is free and open to the public (museum admission is separate).